3/2/2007

Top o’ the mornin’ to you, on this lovely DPF.

I canceled the dance party today due to illness. Yes, sadly I am ill. And also the weather. We can’t dance with all this snow falling outside, can we? Can we?

Actually, I’m on the verge of losing my voice. Last semester I lost my voice for three days. It was kind of funny. The first day, I hung a sign around my neck that said “Ask me about my vow of silence.” Lots of people did, but nobody got an answer. I actually got to sort of enjoy having class without the sound of my own voice, and I think some students got to be a little more self-motivated during those three days. And I got a lot less self-motivated. Good times.

Anyway, today I had just enough voice to get the class started on some work. First, those students who didn’t have enough time yesterday to finish their discovery drafts and brainstorm lists finished those. Then, students read a couple of articles I brought. One of these was a New Yorker article about the history of Catcher, and J.D. Salinger’s story. The other article was an excerpt from a literary analysis of the symbolism in Catcher, which I though would help the students see how deep you can go with this kind of analysis. Here’s a link to the New Yorker article. Here’s a link to download a pdf of the literary criticism article: “Burning carousel” article.

When students were done with all that, I had copies of the Salinger story, “For Esme–With Love and Squalor.” This story was originally published in its current form in the collection called 9 Stories from 1953. I really like this story. The protagonist is kind of Holdenish, and there’s a precocious little girl who is kind of Phoebe-like. If you missed class, come see me if you would like to check out a copy of the story to read on your own.

That is all. A good weekend to you all.

Mt

Leave a Reply

